A brand new pair of shoes…

If there is one thing anyone can say about Osler it’s that nothing stays the same for long. Change is a part of daily life for all of us and this month marks a big one as we say goodbye to Matt Anderson and I step into the role of Interim President and CEO.

My name is Joanne Flewwelling and I would like to start by saying an enthusiastic hello. Some of you may already know me from my occasional guest blogs or from my time visiting units or attending huddles – I’m excited to be taking on this new role and I look forward to meeting more of you over the next few months as I continue rounding throughout the organization.

As I take the baton, I would like to thank Matt for all of his contributions to Osler. Personally, Matt has been a great mentor to me. He’s been a great leadership role model not only to me but to others at Osler and we will miss him.

I am incredibly proud to take on this interim role as the Board searches for our next President and CEO. One of many things I get to do is take over the CEO blog, which will be a lot of fun. We’ll continue to explore topics that are important to the health of the community while showcasing the phenomenal patient-inspired work done by Osler’s talented teams.

As we get to know each other better – I wanted to share some things about me that many people may not know.

  • There have been so many memorable moments at Osler but the one that stands out most for me was having Kay Blair, Osler’s former Board Chair, and an incredible innovator and collaborator, speak to us about her own personal experience as a patient at our organization. It was one of the most meaningful and grounding experiences I have had as she inspired everyone who was present to ‘do better’ for our patients.
  • I chose to pursue a career in health care because my dad encouraged me to explore business and health care. I believe I have a clinical heart and a business brain because of his influence. For me, it is the best of both worlds
  • I look forward to continuing to serve our community through the opening of Peel Memorial and ensuring our exciting redevelopment projects at Etobicoke General continue at the current pace so we can have modern facilities to provide safe, quality, and patient-inspired care.
  • While being in a leadership role requires spending a lot of time at the office, I enjoy my down time as much as you. My favourite ways to unwind is by spending quality time with my family and friends, and when time permits enjoying outdoor sports. I am really looking forward to snowshoeing and skiing this winter.
  • There have been many people who have inspired me throughout my life and career but I would say that Chris Power, CEO of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute, has inspired me the most. This is because as she progressively took on new roles of responsibility on her journey to become CEO, she exhibited a balance between personal connections, business innovation and advocating for patient safety.

Now that you know a little more about me, I want to hear from you – staff, physicians and members of the Osler community. Submitting a comment or a question is often the first step to starting important conversations. So, fire away! I’m looking forward to getting to know you and sharing some of the important work happening at Osler.

Say something!

